Monday, July 14, 2014

Full WorldCup Prize Pay-Out

ESPN FC confirmed Germany's massive payday following Sunday's World Cup final win over Argentina:
Germany will be awarded $35 million in prize money for winning the 2014 World Cup, while each player will get a $408,000 bonus from their national football federation (DFB) for lifting the trophy.
Argentina will be paid $25 million for finishing as runners-up in 2014, while each of the 32 nations that reached the finals in Brazil have earned at least $8 million.
2014 World Cup Prize Money Breakdown
Third Place$22,000,000Netherlands
Fourth Place$20,000,000Brazil
Quarterfinal$14,000,000Belgium, Colombia, Costa Rica, France
Round of 16$9,000,000Chile, Uruguay, Mexico, Greece, Nigeria, Algeria, Switzerland, United States
Group Stage$8,000,000Australia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Cameroon, Croatia, Ecuador, England, Ghana, Honduras, Iran, Italy, Ivory Coast, Japan, Portugal, Russia, South Korea, Spain
Source: FIFA 
As the World Cup grows in popularity every four years, the prize money continues to increase. In December of 2009, FIFA announced that prize money for the 2010 World Cup would increase 61 percent from that awarded at the 2006 World Cup in Germany.
Now, this year's is up 37 percent from the previous tournament.

So while the $348 million share may seem like a ridiculous amount, that number is likely to grow ahead of the 2018 World Cup in Russia


No comments:

Post a Comment