Sunday, July 7, 2013

Andy Murray beats Novak Djokovic to win Wimbledon

Andy Murray won his first Wimbledon title and ended Britain's 77-year wait for a men's champion with a brilliant victory over world number one Novak Djokovic. The Scot, 26, converted his fourth championship point in a dramatic final game to win 6-4 7-5 6-4 and claim his second major title.

In an atmosphere reminiscent of his Olympic final win last summer, Murray was willed on by the majority of the 15,000 spectators on Centre Court, thousands watching on the nearby big screen and millions more around the country. The final game was a battle in itself, with Murray seeing three match points slip by from 40-0 and fending off three Djokovic break points with some fearless hitting, before the Serb netted a backhand to end the contest.

After a gruelling three hours and 10 minutes in searing temperatures, Murray had finally followed in the footsteps of Fred Perry's 1936 win at the All England Club.

Murray's journey to victory

  • Wimbledon is Murray's second Grand Slam title after he won the 2012 US Open
  • It is the 36th time a British man has won the Wimbledon singles title - more than any other nation
  • Fred Perry was the last British man to win Wimbledon, completing a hat-trick of wins in 1936
  • Harold Mahony was the other Scotsman to win the Wimbledon singles title in 1896
  • Murray is the most successful British man in terms of Grand Slam match wins with 113, ahead of Fred Perry on 106
  • Fred Perry won eight Grand Slam titles - three Wimbledons, three French Opens, one US Open and one Australian Open
  • Murray has reached seven Grand Slam finals, behind Fred Perry on 10. (BBC)

No comments:

Post a Comment